How do you generate referrals?

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!

Galager

DJ Extraordinaire
Feb 5, 2016
I read some posts and hear that some of you get a majority of your gigs from referrals. I don't. I wish I did. I feel I am an excellent DJ. I even do well at sales (I was a full commissioned salesman for 15 years).

My question is what do you do to get those referrals? Strategies? Rewards? Threats of bodily harm?

Teach me wise ones.

Sales Man for 15 years...Have you tried door to door sales?
Go to nice neighborhoods, walk house to house, and knock on doors. Introduce yourself, and ask if they might be in the market for a Wedding or Party DJ in the next 12 months? If Yes, great, if no, leave biz cards and a brochure with them and ask them to refer you if they know of any one getting married or throwing a party. ...Many people know someone putting an event together at some point.

Don't be lazy...go knocking on doors. Let us know what the results are!

...If you make 250 contacts each month, you are bound to get a booking or two from it!

Referral business has dried up for me from most venues over the years. Staff changed out too many times. Newer staff doesn't want to deal with referring vendors at many places. They just care about their own jobs. This is why I utilize Google, and Gig Masters more than ever. Online inquires are where more of my business is coming from this year. ...Some bookings still coming from word of mouth from previous clients too.

you can't expect referrals from venues all of my business is from referrals by previous clients, I do a great job and then stay in touch, so if someone mentions they are looking for a DJ guess whose name pops into their head

Reactions: Jeff Romard