I still get butterflies in the stomache

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!

Galager

DJ Extraordinaire
Feb 5, 2016
I've been DJing for about 8 years. I'm pretty good and have a lot of fun. The crazy thing is I still get nervous before EVERY gig. Will I screw up? What if they don't like the music I play? But I have to do the gig because they've given me a deposit and they are depending on me. So I go... and I kill it. Crazy huh?

No not crazy. I've been a DJ for going on 29 years and sometimes I get butterflies before performing at a gig. I usually settle down after a few minutes of playing. I get the feel and do what I do.

I've always said when the butterflies quit happening it's time to quit ;)

I still get them and day of my wife calls it "giggy" I get short, I can't center on stuff at home so I just leave early, it's why I get so early at events, it is not uncommon for me to be set and ready to go with an hour or more wait time.

No different than if I have to speak in front of a crowd. I stress a lot and try to get up to the front as early as possible. Standing there helps the tension ease away a bit.

Reactions: ittigger
Butterflies at DJ Gigs...not any more, but I get slightly nervous, and often need to drink a large sip of diet pepsi or water before I start the bridal party intro. ...It seems to be a natural occurrence at this point. It is more likely when I have a disorganized set of names for the bridal party into, but I wing it, and I'm usually pretty darn good at "winging it" LOL.

....Preperation, and practice is KEY to our business. ...At least for weddings and mitzvahs!

I get worried when my wife yells my name from the other room...Not sure why, but I've been married for over 6 years, and the feeling is still the same.