Weddings New dj needs help making a playlist

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!

CrazyJon

New DJ
May 1, 2009
new jersey
ok well im not a professional dj or anything but i have a bunch of dj equipment that i picked up here and there and i upload cds onto itunes or download it from there. i have a pretty huge selection of a lil bit of everything. i started out with all this as kind of a hobby, anyways iv only played at a few partys for friends of mine which was basically a backyard party wit a bunch of drunks playing some hip hop and club style music. So now heres my issue my best friend is gettin married in aug and he asked me to come set my equipment up and dj his wedding reception for about 5 hours and i have no clue were to start making the playlist for that and what order to put that in, iv never done a wedding reception just mainly a few back yard partys here and there like i said, but he begged me to play for him because he cannot afford to hire a wedding dj so like a sucker i agreed. i know its not gonna b a hudge crowd or nething and they all now im not a pro at this and i have played music for most of the people already that will be there so im not stressin bout messing this up but i was just wondering if somebody already had a 5hr hour playlist set up in order that they wouldnt mind me using. now my best friend and fiance are around my age there only 25, a little bit young to be gettin married i know but hey its his life and he just came home from iraq n shes pregnant at the momment and this is what they want. they are looking to hear a lil bit of counrty, hip hop, classic, rock, and alternative music but i just dont feel right playing hip hop music at a wedding in front of a bunch of older people. Seems like an odd mix of music to me. So if anybody would be able to help me make a playlist that will last about 5 hours for the reception i would greatly apriecate it like i said im kinda new to playin in a professional scene in a rented hall n everyth