DMX DMX Software Thread

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!

Tyrone Blue

DMX professional & Retired Police Officer
Oct 31, 2006
Central - Northern MN
I have been using "ShowXpress" for several years, and am willing to share my knowledge on this thread. I am not familiar with "freestyler", other than that it is MUCH [edit... I think... in my opinion, with very little knowledge of what I'm talking about. Freestyler may very well be as powerful - sorry if I offended anyone] less powerful than ShowXpress. I did have a stint with one or two others, but came back to ShowXpress.

I'll get more into the topic later... questions and comments about software...

Last edited:
When I was first introduced to DMX, it was with Ben, up in Bemidji, while he was working with the "Beavers" hockey team. I was totally overwhelmed! I can now say that I am glad I continued learning it, and now use it exclusively at the hockey arena I work for. The videos I've posted of my show is with this program, and I have no desire to use any of the others.

I implore anyone who wants to use software, to learn programming with hardware first. The learning curve for software is much greater... but knowing it intimately, I can program a show in minutes, that would take hours with hardware.

The videos I've posted of my show is with this program, and I have no desire to use any of the others.

I pretty much use Show Xpress exclusively now as well. I did in the last year purchase Luminaire which is a VERY cool DMX software completely programmed on and controlled by an Ipad. No computer involved. You just need an Artnet to DMX converter , a wireless router, and an Ipad and that's it. While this software is powerful , extremely portable , and has some great features i just don't like it nearly as much as ShowXpress for large shows. For Small shows with Just a couple of fixture types, it is cool to have an incredibly fast to set-up option with powerful control of the lighting

Reactions: ittigger