Interactive DJs Interactive DJ

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!
Nov 12, 2007
Niagara Falls Canada
How many would consider themselves as an interactive DJ. This is my first year DJ'ing and I'm wondering what you consider to be an interactive DJ, what do you do, lead dances, a lot of mic use, play games. Please share what you do to get a crowd involved and dancing.

Dean
Niagara Premeir DJ's

Hey Dean,

Don't feel slighted. It has been quiet on the board lately. We do have quite a number of interactive service providers as members here. The topic has also been discussed quite often in the forum as well. I'm sure if you search some key words on the topic, you would find some helpful information.

If not, I'm sure somebody will chime in eventually.

Good luck.

I think its all up to perception. I think I'm fairly interactive. But I don't lead dances or stand on tables our pull out my trusty blow up gear :sqlaugh:. I tell most of our clients that I run there formal portion of there event with style, smooth announcements and a since of excitement and direction (read heading towards open dance). I have been know to through my since of humor in when it fits. But never push anything. My whole way of doing things is basically to pull off a fun but smooth formal portion.

And during the open dance portion is when I'm actually more myself. Then I become more animated and I interact with the crowed more and say things to motivate them to dance. I think this is where your since of fun needs to come out. I have been known to play a few games during the formal part but only with the bride and groom having asked me before hand. Now don't get me wrong if you do any of the things that I do not do dosen't mean anything. It simply means that everyone has there own style.

Okay I have been simply doing this with great success for 35+ yrs. Jockeying the tunes that they want to dance to.

The very fact that you play a song and someone responds to it is itself interactive.