Weddings What makes a $1500 wedding DJ worth his price?

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!

Galager

DJ Extraordinaire
Feb 5, 2016
I am actually quite apprehensive about even posting this but I think it could be very helpful to me. Full disclosure, I have never done a gig of any kind for over $700 (DON'T JUDGE ME!!!) That said, I would LOVE to be able to command a much larger price. I am learning this DJ thing through trial and error. The closest thing I have had to a mentor is reading in forums like this. I have been DJing for about 8 years.

So, help me up my game to the next level so I CAN charge more. To those DJs who command those kind of prices, what sets you apart?

I think I will go over what I do to prep and do a wedding so you can see where I could improve.

When I give a bid I usually talk to someone on the phone or I give a very detailed written bid. If the potential client wants to meet me first, I am glad to do so.

Once I get the gig I have them fill out my 'Wedding Worksheet'. This is a 7 page document getting all the information I need like what songs they want at various points fo the wedding and reception. It also contains a lot of useful information that I have compiled over the last 8 years.

I also am very adamant that they can call me anytime with questions and I am happy to give suggestions based upon my experience.

I don't do a venue visit unless it is a) very close to my house or b) they pay me a little extra for my time. I explain to them that I am equipped to DJ any venue so long as I have power.

I make one or two phone calls to the B&G before the wedding, one the week of the wedding, just to make sure we are all on the same page.

I always show up earlier than I need to. I uaually wear a white shirt, tie and sports coat unless they specify otherwise.

I DJ alone unless I am doing lights (which I charge extra for). I MC the event.