Sole or LLC

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!
I need pros and cons. Let me give you some background. This will be strictly part time as I already have a full time job. Was looking for sole for ease of setup and able to just use personal tax forms. It is only me so if I did a LLC it would just be me and I don't think the IRS would recognize me as a true LLC anyways. Anyone else just you and no employees? How do you do it? I have been working for another DJ company as a contractor but want my own events to be legitimate. Thanks for any help.

I'm no tax expert but I fail to see any way that an LLC is going to benefit you. In order to be recognized, and gain the expected protections, you're required to hold corporate meetings, conduct financial transactions completely out of the corporate funds (no mixing bank accounts), etc. Just make sure you have an insurance policy in place to protect you in case of accidents.

Reactions: dapperdan
I'm no tax expert but I fail to see any way that an LLC is going to benefit you. . Just make sure you have an insurance policy in place to protect you in case of accidents.

"LLC" can benefit you...even if you have good insurance.
The LLC protects your personal assets from being included in a lawsuit of your business.
So they can't take your home or belongings.

The LLC protects your personal assets from being included in a lawsuit of your business so they can't take your home or belongings.

Ding ding ding! Mike is spot on. If a guest is hurt at an event - even if you were in no way involved - an attorney WILL obtain lawsuits to ALL vendors present - caterer, photographer, DJ, florist, etc.. It's the "throw enough stuff at the wall and some if it is bound to stick" mentality.

And if the DJ WAS directly involved, they will go after everything you own - business and personal.

Having your DJ business registered as an LLC will protect your personal assets.

Reactions: Ausumm